OMG the world didn’t come to an end – so whats in store for 2013?

Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right. ~ Oprah Winfrey

Oprah is right about one thing, beginning a new year is always an exciting moment. Resolutions are fantastic if you have something that you really want to change about yourself, for example to quit smoking or to be a better friend. However, at this point in my life I am truly thankful for the woman who I am, and I am at peace with the natural life changes I am going through. I have found that resolutions often go unaccomplished and are forgotten about the moment things start to get rough. I do want to take this time though to reflect on some of the lessons I learned in 2012, and to layout my goals for 2013.

Favorite part of 2012: Moving in with my sweetheart. This decision was such a difficult one, and the move was challenging as are all moves. Of course we had some things to work out, but things are going great now and I am so happy we made this decision.

Lessons learned:

For most of 2012 I felt pushed to my limit to develop a more organic sense of patience and trust in God and in those people He has placed in my life. My whole life has been pretty much laid out for me up to this point. But after graduating from college last December I learned quickly that this is life and if I want to enjoy it, I need to learn to ‘live and let live’, if you will. There are some things that are in our control. There are other things that are not. The important part is to recognize that only we are in control of how we respond to situations. Approaching life with a sense of patience, allows us to enjoy each moment as it comes. It also allows for much more peaceful relationships with others around us.

I have also learned the importance of being kind and respectful to myself. I have had to learn to let go of things and people that aren’t lifting me up, and to chase after the things that do. I have learned that in order for me to be my sweetest and most productive self – I have to take care of me first. Meaning, I need to eat right and exercise and get plenty of sleep. I have learned that I have to listen to what my soul is telling me, and trust that small voice when it concerns my needs. I have learned to prioritize my time in this way, although this is a skill I want to hone in on even more in the next year.

So here are my goals for 2013:

First, a word about goals. As cheesy as this is, goals need to be SMARTER. If you want to accomplish something, it is important to be very detailed in your planning. Goals should be Specific (and detailed), Measurable (quantify), Action-oriented (what are you going to do), Realistic (is it attainable, do you have the resources you need?), Time-based (set a schedule), Exciting (stay motivated), and Respectful (to yourself and to the people around you).

Goal number 1 pertains to running: I want to enter 4 races total: 2 5ks, 1 longer distance (probably a 15k), and 1 obstacle race or mud run. I am starting with my first 5k in January, which will be the Color Run (STOKED).

I also plan to volunteer at 2 races – this is a great way to give back to the running community and to appreciate the sport a little bit more.

This means that 6 months out of the year I will be attending 1 race, either running or volunteering. And hopefully these races will provide an opportunity to travel a little, at least to see somewhere new in Florida. I hope to be able to schedule them every other month. And in the other 6 months I want to focus on building endurance and cross-training (yoga, swimming).

Goal number 2: Reevaluate the way I think about food. Food should be used for energy. Which is why I am going to experiment with the Paleo diet this January. ((More about this is in a post coming soon. Please leave comments on this post if you are a Paleo or if you have some experience with this, or any questions you may have I will try and get them answered. If you want to do this with me, I will be more than happy to have people to talk to about it, I am sure it will be quite the challenging transition.)) After January, I will decide if this lifestyle is for me, or if I need to make some modifications, or possibly try something else entirely.

Goal number 3: Be kind to my skin and hair. We do this by using sunscreen, eating a clean and healthy diet, drinking plenty of water, and using minimal heat and damaging products on our hair. As a girl in my early 20’s this is a new concept to me. But I am beginning to see the tolls the environment can take on us, and I want to jump ahead of it.

Goal number 4: Develop tools for balancing my personal time. I often find myself making commitments that tie up almost all of my time that I’m not at work or school. This leaves just barely enough time to study. And hardly any time for me. I am finding that I have some introvert tendencies, and gain energy from spending time alone reflecting and meditating. This year I am going to strive to respect this need a little more.

I have plenty of other goals for this year, trust me, the list could go on. But these are the most relevant to my blog. What kind of personal health goals are you setting for yourself this year?

5 thoughts on “OMG the world didn’t come to an end – so whats in store for 2013?

  1. Brooklyn

    Great job Courtney! I love SMART goals but didn’t think about using them for resolutions. And I also haven’t thought about my diet as a way to “be kind to my skin & hair”. That is a lot more motivating.

    Thanks for posting dear!!

    Reply
    1. CourtLeanne Post author

      Thanks Brooklyn! Sorry for taking a bit to reply (I thought I already did it but I guess not) anyway I’m so glad you found this method helpful! Hope your resolutions are going well :) also it’s incredible to stop and look at each aspect of our physical bodies: skin, nails, hair, muscles, energy level, through the lens of our diet. What we eat affects every organ in our bodies.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Out With The Old - Find Your Paradigm: The Art of Living with Grace and Ease | Find Your Paradigm: The Art of Living with Grace and Ease

Talk to me ....

