My personal interpretation of the Paleo Diet

So I recently decided that I am going to try out the Paleo diet, which most claim is more of a lifestyle choice than a ‘diet’. I have done quite a bit of research on this and I know I still haven’t even gone deeper than the surface level of the available research. But I have made a couple of decisions and I am ready to write out my own plan. The first decision I made, that I want to make clear is that not every diet will work for everyone in the same way. Our bodies are all different and what is important is to listen to what your body is telling you about certain foods. Eating paleo makes a lot of sense to me, which is why I have decided to base my diet off of it. However, there are some things that I don’t necessarily agree with, which is why I have chosen to make my own healthy modifications. You may choose to try the paleo diet specifically how the books lay it out, or you may choose to try what I am writing here, or you may choose your own. However, I would encourage everyone to take this New Year as an opportunity to refresh your eating habits.

This plan is based largely in the principles of the Paleo diet, as well as my own philosophies of what I know to be true and healthy.

1) The main point is to eat only the cleanest foods. Stay away from processed foods and dairy. (I am positive the hardest part of this for my boyfriend, who is willingly doing this with me, will be avoiding cheese.) But we will get through it, and my hope is that we will both feel better through the process.

2) What do you eat?

As a girl who loves quality, locally grown veggies and who eats somewhat of a vegetarian diet already, the majority of my calories will come from plants.

– My plan consists of about 70% plant foods: mainly vegetables & fruits But not to exclude: safe plant-based starches, including: potatoes, sweet potatoes, and organic, gluten-free grains such as quinoa or kasha. see http://beta.primal-palate.com/blog/are-potatoes-paleo/ These are not to be over- indulged in, but also not to be excluded.

– The other 30% consists of Protein from: eggs, fish, shellfish; and lean, grass-fed meats: chicken, beef, pork, etc

– Cook with healthy fats/oils rich in Omega-3s: olive oil, grapeseed oil, coconut oil, avocado oil, almond butter, cashew or macadamia butter. Other healthy fats include olives, and raw nuts and seeds.

– Although most Paleo diets suggest avoiding them, I am not cutting out legumes. So long as they are purchased raw and cooked naturally. Black beans, kidney beans, chickpeas, green beans are all great sources of fiber, protein, and vitamins. And they are cheap! I don’t see any reason to cut them out – although they should be eaten minimally. And calorie-rich legumes such as soy and peanuts will be avoided.

see http://drclydewilson.typepad.com/drclydewilson/2011/02/paleo-diet-is-incompetent-legumes-are-not-anti-nutrients.html

3) As with any healthy lifestyles it is extremely important to stay hydrated. I am a firm believer in the power of drinking water to flush toxins out of your body. Start each day with a warm cup of lemon infused water. Then drink water throughout the day use lemon, berries, or fresh mint to flavor. Also, limit intake of other beverages such as caffeine and alcohol.

;

And that’s about it :) Simple right? I will update this blog with recipes and things like that, and I am devoting a category to it so be sure and follow it so you can get all the updates.

Remember, this is not a ‘diet’, but rather a healthy lifestyle and January is about restarting, refreshing, and boosting your health levels. That means to get plenty of exercise and stretch well for at least 10 minutes daily. Get a sufficient amount of rest for overall health. That also means not staring at the scale every morning and driving yourself crazy over weight loss or guilt. This lifestyle is all about you being kind to you. Its about feeling better about the choices you make. And its about having the energy it takes to lead a healthy lifestyle.

See this related article:

http://greatist.com/health/debunking-diets-paleo-facts/#

One thought on “My personal interpretation of the Paleo Diet

  1. Pingback: How To Eat « Jonah Ewell Acupuncture & Martial Arts

Talk to me ....

