Happy Green Smoothie

Tuesdays are my typical day off from work, and this will also be my first day of class – although class doesn’t start till 6 tonight. I woke up this morning feeling a bit excited for class and decided to make the most of my last day off before school really gets going again. So I started by heading out to the Seminole Wekiva trail for a mid-morning what I call ‘easy trail run’. Easy meaning I can go a bit further distance wise but don’t stress too much over my speed. It wasn’t so bad except that the weather couldn’t decide if it wanted to rain or not so I got drizzled on for about half of the run. By the time I got home I was completely drenched from the sweat, rain, and humidity. So I jumped in the shower and then blended up my favorite post-work out-green smoothie.

My green smoothies are never exactly the same, because it all depends on what I have in the fridge that day. I would recommend you to mix up your smoothie routine as well, it keeps things interesting.Every smoothie has some form of dairy in it – milk or yogurt. For me, it just needs it. I know I’m trying to go paleo. No, I can part with the yogurt in my smoothie quite yet. I’m sure you could use coconut milk and maybe on another day I will try it.

Today I was fresh out of spinach (which is normally what makes it green) but I have a ton of kale I’ve been trying to get through before it goes bad. So I thought, what the heck, and I’m glad I did because the kale taste is completely hidden and I know kale is a superfood so I am happy to sneak it in to this.

Here is the recipe I used today:

1/4 cup kale (tear off the stems and tear into small pieces so its easier to blend)

1/4 cup pineapple juice

1/4 cup plain low-fat yogurt

half a banana

1/2 cup of frozen peaches

2 tablespoons whole flax seeds

Everything goes in, blend, and enjoy :)

20130108-110930.jpg

Talk to me ....

