Cold Weather Carrot-Ginger Soup

I know it is officially Spring Break here in central Florida; but with our freak cold fronts – it is below 65 degrees here. And I can’t say I don’t love it, this weather reminds me of where I’m from in North Carolina and I definitely miss it. But I don’t think anyone is interested in BBQ’n on the beach this break. In light of that I have decided to share one of my favorite soup recipes!!

20130304-111931.jpg

Court’s Carrot-Ginger Soup

Soup, with all of its warmth and comfort goodness, is one of my favorite things in life. The only downfall is that store-bought is often extremely high in sodium content, so it’s best to prepare your own.

This soup is perfect for autumn nights- or spring nights when it still happens to get down to 30 degrees in Florida. The soup is reminiscent of a smooth tomato basil. Comforting and filling, you can eat it by itself for lunch, or dinner for a cozy night in :)

Of course you’ll need carrots!!  :) But they don’t have to be this big!

20130515-172230.jpg

Haha! This picture was taken at a Maitland Art Festival, but I love it!!

Here is what you will need:

  • Coconut oil
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • ½ cup chopped carrots
  • 1 small sweet potato (or ½ a normal sized one)
  • ¼ piece fresh ginger – freshly grated is best
  • ½ can of coconut milk
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • Fresh herbs: Rosemary, Thyme, or Celery leaves (I used all 3) // or you can use dry Italian seasoning
  • salt, pepper

Step by Step Recipe: 

1. Everything goes in the pot finely chopped. In a large pot heat up some coconut oil with plenty of Italian seasoning and s&p. Throw in the chopped onion, garlic, and ginger and let them sweat a little.

20130304-105955.jpg

2. Once they start to caramelize a bit, pour in the coconut milk and broth, let this come together for about 2-3 minutes.

3. Next add in your chopped carrots and sweet potatoes. Cover your pot and leave it on medium – high heat, let this all come to a boil.

4. Once it’s boiling, lower heat to a simmer and toss in your fresh chopped herbs. Let cook, covered, on low heat for 45 minutes or so, as with most soups, low and slow is best.

20130304-110013.jpg

5. Finally, let the soup cool down to room temp and then pour into an immersion blender or back to the food processor to blend until it’s a smooth, thick consistency. My blender is small so it took a couple times to get it all blended. I have a large one – (I just didn’t feel like pulling it out)

20130304-110034.jpg

20130304-110823.jpg

6. Then reheat – I like to just pour it back in the pot and let it get back to a simmer – it takes another, about 15 minutes.

7. Serve with pita chips, or roasted chickpeas.

I also like to make my tahini lemon mixture to substitute for sour cream and serve with this soup. Since it’s so healthy, I can’t see putting a dollop on top like you would with chili, but feel free to do so if you’d like. It’s just tahini, lemon juice, and water (about equal parts.)

20130304-110111.jpg

And garnish with more fresh herbs.

Now curl up on the couch with this deliciousness and watch a good movie, or Walking Dead :)

Enjoy!

20130304-110132.jpg

20130304-111931.jpg

 

Talk to me ....

