Lazy Saturday

First of all I just want to say a BIG THANK YOU to Boston PD. Thank God they caught the bastard alive. We have a lot to learn about what actually transpired on April 15, 2013. I think we are all SO proud to be an American right about now! This is the land of the free, and you simply don’t get away with trying to hurt us. Law enforcement and the rest of the first responders did a great job this week. I don’t want to forget anyone, so I won’t list it out – I am just going to say that EVERYONE, including the dispatchers, did an awesome job this week in Boston!

20130420-214757.jpg

Today was somewhat of a bust for me. It went from plans changing, to more plans changing, to ultimately being a lazy Saturday, sprinkled with some unexpected setbacks (including locking my keys in the car, thankgoodnessforAAA!). But ultimately I think an uneventful, lazy, fairly-stress-free Saturday is probably exactly what I needed.

On top of trying to stay up to date and following what’s going on in our nation, this week has also been stressful for me on a personal level – family stresses, transition on the job front, and my grandmother gave us all a scare yesterday by falling while checking the mail. She is in the hospital now and healing sufficiently. I am just ready for some good things to start happening, and thankful for the weekend and moving on! Needless to say, although I really wanted to go on a long run today to clear my mind, I think that taking the day off from any stress on my mind or body was what I actually needed.

I guess the day wasn’t a complete fail. I had breakfast with Steven this morning, I spent an hour or so at a community event, and I visited with a friend and possibly nailed down a date for a half marathon later this year. Well, we narrowed it down to a couple; we’re a bit indecisive. I also planted some flowers today.

20130420-213241.jpg

These were a birthday gift ….. I really enjoyed getting it set up today and I can’t wait to see the little suckers sprout! I don’t have the greenest of thumbs, but we’ll see how it goes!

I also made a really tasty, healthy, and creative casserole for dinner tonight. Steven had to work an event today and wanted some kind of comfort food for when he got home. So I set out to prepare us a chicken/cheese/rice type casserole, but I wanted to put a healthy twist on it so I threw in some of the veggies I had on hand and used whole brown rice instead of white, and a blend of white cheeses.

20130420-213217.jpg

I still included the not-so-healthy cream of mushroom soup, but what would a casserole be without that creaminess? My veggies included onion, red bell pepper, garlic, kale, mushrooms, and frozen corn. The casserole was so simple to make and so yummy that both Steven and I had a couple of bowls.

20130420-213232.jpg

20130420-213223.jpg

 

Finally, please notice that I also changed the name of my blog today.  I have been considering this and trying to come up with a new name pretty much since the day I started this blogging thing in November. I have been looking for something that would reflect me, and be a bit more fun and unique. I hope you like it and continue reading!! Not much will really change, just a new name!

Looking forward to church tomorrow and some fun stuff in the afternoon!! Hopefully a more eventful day than today. No plans for tonight either by the way, after the way today went, I just want to stay in with my pups! Have a good night everyone!!!

20130420-214354.jpg

One thought on “Lazy Saturday

Talk to me ....

