Happy Memorial Day

Wishing a happy Memorial Day to all of the veterans and military families!

I have several family members who have served or are serving currently in the armed forces. To me Memorial Day is about taking a moment to reflect, and be thankful for their sacrifice, so that we can live in the land of the free. I have always been extremely patriotic at heart, and my freedom and status as an American citizen is the one blessing in my life that I hold closest.

patton

As someone who is just beginning a career in law enforcement, sacrifice is a concept that I’m positive I will become more and more aware of each year and with each new person I work with. I admire police officers, firefighters, and military personnel greatly – their sense of selflessness, compassion, and patriotism is displayed through their work, and I am grateful to have the opportunity to know and work with some of these individuals.

In honor of Memorial Day I made some rice krispie treats for my coworkers today. Yes, that means I did have to go into work today, but again only for a six hour shift. I got my rice krispie inspiration from this post by Julie over at PBF. I made the krispies as usual with melted marshmallows and butter.

20130527-203452.jpgThen I added about a half cup of dried coconut, a few squares of Ghirardelli’s white chocolate, and layered the treats with red and blue sprinkles.

20130527-203457.jpgEveryone at work loved them and admitted to not having these tasty treats in years. I felt it was a very American treat, appropriate for the holiday – the kind of thing that takes you back to childhood.

20130527-203503.jpg

20130527-203508.jpg

After I got home from work today I went for a nice 5k run and tried to be intentional about reflecting on my freedom during the run. One thing for sure about running, it gives me the time to get in my head and find clarity in my thoughts, and to reflect on the day and what is going on around me. I decided that although its normally taken for granted, our security and freedom in America is what genuinely defines us as a country. Going to try and be more aware of that concept on a regular basis, as opposed to just on patriotic holidays.


How was your Memorial Day?

Talk to me ....

