Summer is when laziness finds respectability

Well hello everyone if you were wondering where in the heck I’ve been, I don’t blame you. I have been pretty MIA in the world of blogging and social media lately. I guess I kind of needed a break, and as you can tell from my last post, I knew I was going to be a little bit busy – but here is a quick update, and I promise to start writing more soon!

clip_image001

So what have I been up to? Well I’ve been working a lot. Sleeping a lot. Eating a lot. Not as much running-as-I-wish-I-would-be-doing a lot. It is so challenging for me to motivate myself to run in the heat of Florida’s summer! I refuse to use the treadmill more than once a month or so. Combine that with how busy I have been, and running has kind of taken a back burner. I’ve been running a couple of miles when I can  when I feel like it, and focusing more on stretching and much more on resting. Which don’t get me wrong rest is a great thing, and needed in any runners training schedule.

clip_image003

I haven’t been entirely lazy and lifeless though! I do have some big news … Steven and I moved to a super cute townhome this weekend! Our apartment was way too small for the two of us and Brady. Plus we had some issues with increasing crime rates in the community, bats living in the trees, and a poor A/C system that the management company refused to tend to, among other things. So when our lease came up this month, we decided to move.

The townhome is adorable and I am so much happier already. We have much more room, a landlord that seems very friendly, and it’s more convenient to work, to my family, and to shopping. Best part? There is a running trail within a mile from our front door. Notice I said runner’s trail, not biker’s trail. Because, let’s be honest runner’s own the trails ‘round here. Although, I’m sure I will be doing some biking out there too! Especially since Steven has promised to invest in a bicycle and ride with me on occasion!

We are still unpacking and working on cleaning out the old apartment, but for the most part the move is complete. Thank you so much to our friends and family who helped out this weekend – we are so blessed to have such awesome friends who are willing to be there when we need it most.

Now what is on the agenda for the rest of the summer? Well I need to finish unpacking and cleaning up the old apartment. I also must get back into a regular training routine since my half is coming up in November. I did make it out for two runs this week. The first one was through my new neighborhood, which I intentionally made a music-free, relaxed run so I could really take in the area. My second run this week was with my friend Sarina, and we went and explored a new area for that one too. We headed out yesterday morning, dark and early, and ran on a section of the Cross-Seminole trail that is new to us. Each of these runs were nice for their own reasons, but I am ready to get back into a regular training schedule next week!

I also am hoping to have a sunshine-margarita-carefree kind of day soon!  How has your summer been going so far?

clip_image005

4 thoughts on “Summer is when laziness finds respectability

Talk to me ....

