Labor Day – take a load off

Happy Labor Day!I hope you were all able to take today off from Labor on this beautiful day and relax! After breakfast, Steven and I will be heading over to Aquatica for a day in the sun! We had considered going to Disney today, but I am assuming the park will be packed!

Just wanted to give everyone a little something to reflect on today, while you are BBQing, laying out, shopping the holiday weekend sales, celebrating, or doing whatever makes you feel relaxed and rejuvenated! I found this tidbit on washingtonpost.com a few days ago while I was planning for the weekend:

The Hebrew word for ‘work’, avodah, can also be translated as ‘worship’

How interesting? I have always been taught that hard work is a good thing and that I should do something that is pleasing to God. But I had no idea that God meant for the two words to be so closely connected. Literally, when we work to serve society, it is also a form of worship. I have to believe that God designed us to do the work that he puts in front of us – the work we do is no coincidence to Him, even if you think it is something you just ‘fell into’.


So on this Labor Day, here are a few questions I will be reflecting on:

    • What is the deeper meaning of my work?
    • What purpose does it serve?
    • How does my job influence good in people?
    • How does the work I do impact the world around me?

Tomorrow happens to be my first day in a new position at work, so my thoughts have been consumed by that as of recent. I am so excited to get started and to find out what is in store for me. Of course, a bit of nervousness goes along with that, but I am ready and looking forward to it! I am glad to have today off to refresh and go in tomorrow feeling motivated and intentional.

I hope that the questions above stir up a little motivation for you as well, and that we can all go back to work tomorrow feeling a bit more passionate about what we do! Make it a great day off everyone, happy Labor day to you and your loved workers!!

Oh and please keep in mind all of our military, law enforcement, fire and EMS who are still working today and everyday to keep us all safe! Thank you for all of your endless dedication to our freedoms!!

One thought on “Labor Day – take a load off

  1. Dan DuVall

    Very nice and thoughtful. On Sep 2, 2013 8:57 AM, “The Princess and the Jog” wrote:

    > ** > CourtLeanne @princessandthejog posted: “Happy Labor Day!I hope you were > all able to take today off from Labor on this beautiful day and relax! > After breakfast, Steven and I will be heading over to Aquatica for a day in > the sun! We had considered going to Disney today, but I am assuming the > park”

    Reply

Talk to me ....

