9-week half marathon

Good Morning!

We are in the final 9-week countdown of my very first half marathon! I decided to go ahead and post my own plan of action to make myself more accountable to it. This is basically the same plan that I have been following for a while: mixing in cross training with short and long runs; adding an extra mile to my long run every two weeks.

Of course, if you find this plan helpful, you may want to modify it to use for your own training!

Before starting this plan I would suggest that you are already physically able to run 6 miles easy and running regularly about 3 times a week.

9 week Half-Marathon Training Plan
Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
Week 1

Rest

3 mi intervals

CT

5 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 8 mi

Week 2

Stretch day

3 mi w/ hills

CT

5 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 8 mi

Week 3

Rest

4 mi intervals

CT

4 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 9 mi

Week 4

Stretch day

3 mi w/ hills

CT

4 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 9 mi

Week 5

Rest

4 mi speed

CT

3 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 10 mi

Week 6

Stretch day

3 mi w/ hills

CT

4 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 10 mi

Week 7

Rest

5 mi for time

CT

5 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 8 mi

Week 8

Stretch day

5 mi for time

CT

5 mi

Rest

CT

LR: 6 mi

Week 9

Rest

CT

5 mi

CT

Rest

Stretch day

Race Day!!

@Princessandthejog

A couple of notes about this plan:

  • Like any other training plan, of course the days can be switched around within the week according to what works with your schedule. For me personally, I like keeping my weekly long runs on the same day as what will ultimately be my race day, because I appreciate being able to use it as a dress-rehearsal of sorts.
  • CT = Cross-training. Cross training for me will consist of a mix of biking, swimming, and upper body strength training. Remember, being an efficient runner means you need an overall strong body.
  • Stretch days. Every day is a stretch day. You should be caring for your body on a regular basis by consistently stretching your muscles and hydrating properly, among other things. On this calendar, the ‘stretch days’ are unique because they allow for the entire time you would normally use for a work out (at least 20-30 minutes) to focus solely on stretching. This should be done at least once a week. Pay attention especially to your back, core, and legs and make sure that everything feels okay. Practice balance and stability. Massage may play into this as well. The point is just to rejuvenate those tensed up muscles.

So this is basically my life for the next 9 weeks! I hope some of you will find the plan useful to your training as well :)

I am also playing with different mid-run hydration/fueling techniques. Check out this snack Steven got me to try on my long run this weekend.

llaAny suggestions for mid-run fuel?

What does your training schedule include? Do you incorporate cross training?

3 thoughts on “9-week half marathon

Talk to me ....

