Brown Rice Risotto with Shrooms

One of my favorite comfort foods to cook and to eat is risotto. But I recognize that the dish is not typically prepared healthfully. A lot of runners cling to high-carb meals; but its always a good idea to make sure the carbs we are taking in are whole and nutritious. This risotto is prepared with brown rice instead of pasta and it tastes just as delicious, I promise! Here is a sneak peak:



Now lets get on to the cooking :) Here is what you’ll need:

  • 2 cups brown rice
  • 3-4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 shallot or onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • Italian seasoning
  • veggie add-ins

Optional/As desired:

  • mozzarella cheese
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 1/2 lemon

If you don’t know how to make risotto, I will give you a quick run down; but I really suggest googling a few recipes and then just trying it, it’s really the kind of thing that sounds more complicated than it is!

First set pot number one at low heat with the broth. Next, heat up your bigger pot with olive oil, onion, italian seasoning, S&P, and 2 cloves of garlic. Once they start to play together and  caramelize nicely, add in your rice and let sit for a minute on low heat while you figure out how to open a bottle of wine – look below I did it on my own, I’m almost as good at opening the bottles as I am at drinking the content (wait, that isn’t true).

After about a minute or two, stir the rice mixture, then go ahead and add in 1 cup wine and the juice of half a lemon.

Slowly add the broth, about a quarter cup at a time, to your rice. This will take time but it is kind of fun to watch the flavors develop if you ask me. With the last few hits of broth, add in your veggies. I used a carton of sliced shrooms and about half a bag of spinach. I also added in some more garlic, lemon zest, and a handful of flax seeds at this time.

Stir in the mozzerella cheese to your liking and serve warm :)

Although risotto might seem complicated the first time you make it, and I will admit that it’s the kind of dish that takes some babysitting, it is actually quite easy once you get the hang of it! I also really like this dish because there are so many variations, you can really make it how you want it! Don’t forget, you can always enjoy a glass of the wine while you watch the stove ;)

I will be busy with some training the rest of this week at work, but I am already excited for the weekend! Steven and I are joining a few of our friends at Disney’s Food and Wine to celebrate his birthday on Saturday! We haven’t been to Disney in quite some time and I cannot wait!!

What is your favorite food to make?

Any plans for the weekend?

2 thoughts on “Brown Rice Risotto with Shrooms

Talk to me ....

