A Short Workout is Better than None

This morning Steven and I left for South Florida to see his family for Thanksgiving. The car ride isn’t too terribly long and we normally make it fun with lots of music and car dancing :) Today we’re listening to alot of country music like Darius Rucker! I love his sound!!

We stopped at Wawa for breakfast, and I choose a somewhat healthy option of a turkey sausage and egg white bagel

And now we’re just cruisin’ along, check out this truck we just passed:

I wanted to chat a little today about how things are going with my holiday challenge. Today is day 3 of Elf for Health!!

There was some kind of issue with emailing or communication with my original Elf, but thankfully Lindsay worked it out and reassigned a few of us. This morning I emailed with my new Elf, Kelly. She seems like a sweetheart and I’m super excited to talk with her and encourage each other over the next two weeks!!

Day three’s challenge is to try a new workout. This is a great one for everyone I think, because as humans we all have the tendency to go for what we know. We normally rely on the same exercises we’re familiar with. However, it’s important to switch things up every now and then and add some variation to your workout routine.

Here’s just a few reasons you should consider trying a *new* workout:

1) Prevent overuse or repetitive strain injuries
2) Beat workout boredom, challenge yourself and put excitement back in your exercise time!
3) Build new muscles

There’s a lot of workouts I’d like to try! For example, my Elf Kelly suggested I try Barre, since it’s supposed to be a great compliment to running, which is explained nicely here.

Unfortunately, I won’t have a full hour to devote to a full workout today like I’d want to for trying something new. So I’ve decided to make it my goal to try at least one new workout a week throughout the four week challenge.

For today, I am going to try one of the ‘quick’ workouts we always see on Pinterest. The idea here is to get in as much as possible in a small amount of time – anywhere between 5-15 minutes.

Believe it or not as many times as I’ve repinned these, I’ve never actually tried it. I am normally the girl who chooses not to workout if I don’t have more than 30 minutes to spare. But even a short workout is better than nothing!

I am going to try my hand at the routine below!

I want to hear from you:
How are you doing with your health goals as we move into the holiday season?

3 thoughts on “A Short Workout is Better than None

  1. andy1076

    wow that’s quite the list of core exercises :) I’m doing like you suggested above, kicking it up a notch on weights and making my runs longer, Gotta get ready for the next upcoming feast after Thanksgiving! :)

    Reply

Talk to me ....

