Monday’s Circuit Workout

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you all had a fabulous weekend! I spent the majority of my weekend finishing up Christmas shopping. But here are two other highlights:

1) Steven and I celebrated our two years of dating anniversary with sushi and wine! Sorry didn’t take any pictures because we didn’t take our phones out the whole time :)

2) My day Saturday was spent with my church family as we hosted a picnic for a neighborhood nearby. The event was a huge outreach success!

As usual the weekend flew by. The good news is we are getting closer to Christmas and even though FL is still experiencing over 85 degree weather, I am finally getting into the Christmas spirit!

I am super excited because we are starting week 2 of Elf 4 Health challenges! That means that we received new Elf buddy assignments yesterday. I met my new elf, Christie, via email last night and I gotta say I think we already learned we have a lot in common and will have fun encouraging each other!

Today’s elf challenge is to do a circuit workout. I don’t really do circuit workouts much anymore, since I no longer belong to a gym and most of my workouts are based around running. However, it’s really important as a runner to remember that strength training plays a huge role in overall fitness!

That being said, I try to squeeze in a core-strength circuit workout once a week. Here are a couple of workouts from Runners World that I like to use for inspiration. Today I am doing my version of a 30-minute core power workout, similar to the ones listed on the Runners World website.

Here is my circuit:

circuit workout

After my workout this morning I enjoyed a yummy winter-flavored smoothie. I love frothy milky smoothies after tough workouts, tastes so rewarding!

This one was a mixture of almond milk, banana, cranberries, and half a packet of vanilla carnation instant breakfast mix.

I am also really looking forward to tomorrow’s Elf for Health challenge, which is to ‘pay-it-forward’. I love the idea of positive karma!!

Hope everyone has a great start to their week!

Do you enjoy circuit workouts? How about core-strength training?

7 thoughts on “Monday’s Circuit Workout

  1. Tonya@Healthy, Fit, and Frugal

    I use a lot of free apps on my phone to do circuit/strength type workouts. I don’t enjoy them that much as I’m much more of a cardio girl, but I do them anyway. :) Nike Training Club is one of my favorites. In fact that’s what I did today! I have to figure out what I’m going to do for tomorrow’s challenge!

    Reply

Talk to me ....

