Tuscan Chicken – Gluten Free Recipe

Hi friends!

I have been experimenting lately with fresh, healthy recipes – which I know you’re thinking, is nothing new for me. The new part is that I have been stepping out of my comfort zone and looking to limit the amount of wheat I consume, while still cooking satisfying meals. If you know anything about me you know that I am a huge pasta and bread lover, so this is no easy feat.

I am not gluten-free; I don’t have celiac disease. But due to recent research I have decided to reduce the amount of wheat I take in, and so far I feel healthier than I have felt in a long time! I started a couple of weeks ago and already I have noticed I have more energy, higher levels of overall optimism and balance in my mood, and healthier looking skin.

Shortly after I started considering this diet/lifestyle, I coincidently met Christie at KissesandKale through Elf 4 Health. Christie happens to lead a gluten-free lifestyle herself and blogs about advice and GF recipes regularly. She encouraged me to try it out and I am so thankful for that and have been using her blog as a go-to for ideas.

Earlier this week, I finally decided to try creating my own meal recipes that don’t contain any wheat. I know that if I am going to commit to this, I am going to have to put my own creativity into it; and that is exactly how this recipe came about!

With this meal in particular, you don’t even miss the wheat. If you really want to, it could be served with rice; but I found it quite delightful without and I think you will too. The meal is simple, yet filling and full of flavor!

Ingredients: 

  • 4 chicken thighs – bone in
  • 1 cup Grape tomatoes (halved)
  • 4 cloves of fresh garlic (smashed)
  • 6 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 1 cup Mushrooms (sliced)
  • 2 cans cannellini beans
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  •  Dry Italian seasoning

The other good thing about this dish is its just that: it’s one dish! So first you want to pour the white wine and 1/4 cup of olive oil on the bottom of a glass baking dish. Next mix together the tomatoes, garlic, mushrooms and cannellini beans, along with Italian seasoning. Finally lay the chicken thighs and sprigs of thyme on top and pour the rest of the olive oil all over the top of it. Bake for 1 hour or until chicken is cooked all the way through (to avoid salmonella, of course.)

The best part of this dish is how well the flavors mesh into each other. The acidity from the white wine along with the strong aroma of thyme, it just tastes like an Italian restaurant! I loved it!! Super light and still filling and satisfying, the perfect type of dish if you ask me!

I hope everyone is getting ready for Christmas, only a couple more days!! This dish would be perfect as a light meal for one day this week since we all know that there will be several *not so light* meals to be had ;) And since we’re on that subject, let me go ahead and say that I hope you all enjoy every last bite of your Christmas dinner and every drop of your hot chocolate! Enjoy time with your family and remember what Christmas is all about!

Talk to me ....

